daddy-daughter weekend

As stated in some posts that seem like forever ago, every once in a while Maggie and I get daddy-daughter days. Well, in this case it was a weekend! Alie had been planning a weekend trip to Gatlinburg with some of the other teachers where she works. So, I said to go have a good time and I will do my best to take care of our daughter and not destroy the house. Well, sometimes with Maggie it is hard to come up with activities that will keep her engaged the whole time. I started mentally flipping through activities that I enjoy and that she too may enjoy. My mind wandered back to when I was a youngster and I would “cook” with my mom. In actuality she would do all the work and I got to enjoy the treats. So, I wanted to cook with Maggie just like I use to with my mom.

On Saturday, we had a good day together doing different activities like attending a middle school b-team basketball game, grocery shopping, etc. and by that evening we were ready to cook! Maggie loves cupcakes, so what better to make with her than yummy cupcakes. I thought about pulling out all the stops and making them from scratch (did I mention I love to cook {and eat}?!), but since it was kinda late in the evening and her attention span was dwindling we settled for a box-mix and a can of icing. After about 15 minutes we had mixed up everything and started the baking process. Just check out how much she LOVED licking the cake batter. I used to…wait I STILL love doing this too.

jdh0002

jdh0004

jdh0003b

And yes, that is batter on her forehead. I knew it would be too late when the cupcakes were all finished to eat them, so we waited until today (Sunday) to eat some. I told her that she needed to look at me because her Aunt Jodie would love to see her munching on some homemade goodies. Aunt Jodie is who inspired me to pick up cooking, and I know that Maggie loves her Auntie although she has only got to meet her a couple of times so I had to use it as leverage.

jdh0006

Once we got done eating our cupcakes, we went to McDonald’s to get some lunch and then we were going to head to the Adventure Science Center in Nashville. We were going to pick up Alie down in Nash’ anyway so why not go have some fun?! By the way, not only does Maggie like cupcakes, she loves McNuggets from Micky-D’s and I wanted to make sure she ate before we got Alie.

jdh0007b

I don’t know why she has her hands over her ears, but it was one of the only pictures we got because we were there for only about a half an hour (thank goodness for free admissions for teachers). We had some great times this weekend, but my most favorite was this morning when Maggie walked up behind me while I was getting a drink and she hugged my leg and said in her own words “I love you daddy.” And yes that is before I tempted her with a cupcake πŸ™‚ It is moments like that which is why I love what all my wife has done for me and I will forever cherish the gifts she has given to me.

6 Comments

Filed under Children/Family Photography, My Family

6 responses to “daddy-daughter weekend

  1. blonde incognito

    i LOVE the cooking pictures πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ you cant beat a baby with a chocolate face!

  2. josh, i love all the pics, maggie is the cutest!! of course her mom and dad are not too bad….i started to call several times to see if i could help out, now i see you didn’t need me at all. you did just great with her…….love you all

  3. Grandmother

    Looks like a fun time was had by ALL! What beautiful pictures. I’m sure Alie will love seeing the memories you two made.

  4. Your sweet documentation of your date with Mags brought tears to my eyes. I am so grateful for you and your family. I am eternally grateful that God has given you such a precious gift to share. Continue to use it for His Glory Josh.

  5. Josh, this is the sweetest post I think I have ever read. I know why Maggie & Alie love you so much!!
    πŸ™‚ ~Karin

  6. Pam (Josh's Mom)

    Josh….LOVE the pictures! She is just the sweetest and so are you. What a wonderful Daddy you are & Maggie will always remember how much her Daddy loves her! She will remember your special times together just like you remember our special times. It was so nice to hear that you do. So glad you captured that sweet chocolate face! What a fun time you two had!! What fun memories you are making for her to share w/her grandkids someday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

