…what are you thankful for?

I have so much to be grateful for this year and one of the most important is family. I love my family and my extended family. We all have our quirks and we all disagree from time to time, but we are always there for each other. Unfortunately, my family is spread across a few states. My sister and her family are getting closer, but Texas is still kinda far away. My parents, and my brother and his family are in Indiana. Although they are only 4 hours away, we still don’t get to see one another on a regular basis. We are, however, close to Alie’s family. Her sister and her family live about 100 yards away, and her parents and grandparents are just about 10 miles up the road. I am so thankful to have them all close as they are special people and they have all helped Alie and I so much along our way.

I always miss my side of the family, especially around the holidays, although we have tried to spend as much time with everyone ever since we started dating. Splitting holidays, spending entire holidays in one state or another, but now that we have Maggie it is hard to be pulled in so many directions. Because I do miss my family, it is wonderful to know at least Alie’s family is nearby to help fill the void for me. We are able to get together for holidays and birthdays with one another and it is something that I truly love. I know I will never be able to do this with both sides of our families since we are so spread out, but I know we are grateful to at least spend this time we have with one family or another.

This Thanksgiving, we all met at Alie’s parents house as usual to have Thanksgiving lunch. We have tried to make it a point to take pictures with Alie’s grandparents as you never know how much more time you have with anyone. I lost both of my grandfather’s when I was a freshman in college and their loss made me more appreciative of all of my family that remains. I mean, if my family can almost lose me, then you can lose anyone anytime! As you can tell, I love to take pictures so I am always happy to lug around my gear to our family events. We managed to get a good family picture, although it was hard enough to just get the whole family to stand still for just a few minutes while I took the pictures. Afterwards, Alie and I wanted to get some pictures of Anna, Isaac, Luke, and Mary since we don’t have a lot of updated pictures of them. Mary ended up heading for a nap after the family pics, so we grabbed the others for some quick pictures. I have to say that their pictures are some of my favorites so far and I know that I am going to be hounded for these pictures once our family sees them, but I just have to post them!

The whole family:
IMG_7311

Anna and Alie both looking pretty as ever…
IMG_7401

Issac…
IMG_7419

And Luke…
IMG_7428

I loved all of the pictures I managed to get and one of these days I will get some of Mary and the rest of her family, but for now these will have to work as a teaser 🙂 I am very thankful to have Alie’s family and I am thankful for my own side of our family. One of these days I will hopefully be able to show my appreciation by getting some more pictures of both sides of my family!

1 Comment

Filed under My Family

One response to “…what are you thankful for?

  1. These are ridiculously great Josh! The family one is just awesome! I imagine that’ll hang over a certain Greenbrier fireplace! And Anna & Alie – just gorgeous! And the boys….incredible!

Leave a Reply

